An Ode to Supermacs

30 May

(Dedicated to a friend who understands.)

O hallowed house of the greasy chicken snack box,

You haunt my dreams.

One reckless visit in Oughterard (its really a place)

And now I can no longer walk my city’s streets

Without fear of the fumes that waft from your premises,

Inducing cravings for your delectable products.

I once thought that you were only for culchies – fool that I was!

I laughed at them, flocking to your door

Past McDonalds and Burger King and other (cheaper) options,

Now I laugh no more, but salivate,

And long for the day when I have €7

And can buy another snack box meal.

4 Responses to “An Ode to Supermacs”

  1. procrastinationtothemax May 30, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    I love it.

  2. theboywhofoundfear May 30, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    “One reckless visit in Oughterard”

    I think you told me that story ages ago! If I’m remembering the right story….
    And we were walking past supermacs on O’Connell street at the time…
    I’ve a little bit of a photographic memory in the way that I remember the place conversations happen more so than the detail…

    • Girl Without a Plan June 1, 2010 at 8:45 am #

      You do have an uncanny memory for those kind of details…

      “You were wearing your red jumper at the time (Dougal)!”

      Although I’m struggling to remember a time when we would have been in town together since the Oughterard event…it was on the way back from Roundstone and since then our meetings seem to have been confined to hospitals and conferences (how depressing)…

      Mmmmm Supermacs…

Leave a Reply

